Archive | 5:04 pm

190814

19 Aug

Another sleepless night. They haven’t been happening as frequently as of late but… it seems that when I actually really need the sleep (I start class at 9am , have a group presentation and a full day) I can’t. And as usual, it’s because of a man. Or to be more precise, of men in general.

I feel like at this point, my heart is held together by bandaids. Each bandaid just a quick fix, destined to fall off, to weaken its hold. Another man, another bandaid. Another disappointment and further breakage. If my heart was a physical object, I would wonder why it hasn’t crushed to bits. I would wonder at all why I keep trying when the search for what I’m looking for is proving fruitless.

I won’t lie. I’ve dated a lot. I’ve gone on more first dates this year than I’ve got shoes. And jeez, I can’t say it’s been the best experience of my life. In fact, I’d even say I hate dating. I really do. And don’t tell me that I haven’t gone on enough dates or that I haven’t met the right guy. I’ve gone on dates with all sorts of guys. They all have different interests and occupations (or studies). I’ve gone on dates with ‘alphas’ and ‘betas’. I’ve gone to the movies, to pancake parlour, to Nobu and to the art gallery. I’ve tried dating guys I knew from uni, guys I’ve picked up at the bus stop and even online dating. But you know what, it’s mostly all ended up with me feeling the same way : hating men.

Maybe I should get a guidebook or something but men are confusing. They don’t really seem to know what they want. They’re not upfront about things or they just plain straight out lie. Maybe I’m going through dating the wrong way. Maybe I should’ve gone about it as if it was a game. Maybe I should be a cold icy bitch. Maybe I should always let the guy pay. Maybe I shouldn’t be honest and maybe I shouldn’t be myself. Maybe I should be docile and quiet. Because it seems as if I’m going about everything all wrong. Because it all ends the same way. Disappointing. Heartbreaking.

I can’t say I’m a romantic. I know that I won’t get flowers and I’ll be lucky if he even decides to pick up the bill for dinner. I know that he’ll talk about himself a bit too much and I’ll have to laugh (because it’s polite). I know that he won’t hold my hand or walk me home. I know not to expect too much. But perhaps it’s all these thoughts that are setting me up for failure.  Maybe that’s why I’ve been happy to settle for something less than what I truly deserve. Maybe that’s why even though I try my best for every relationship, my partner never does the same.

My last boyfriend (whom I broke up with recently) I probably shouldn’t have dated for as long as I did. My friends would ask, “Why are you dating him?” and I would tell them that he enjoys affection. He pays for dinner and he was polite with my family. Which is all well and good but… even I knew deep down that… I shouldn’t have stayed. Whilst he was good in some areas, in others, he was severely lacking in. The things that weren’t right… weren’t enough… If I had been the me before I became this broken, I wouldn’t have accepted. I would have just left it at that and I would’ve moved on.

But I didn’t. I stayed. I stayed through the doubts, and the problems. I stayed through the silence and I stayed long enough to let myself get hurt. And I wonder why? Why is it so hard to find magic? Why is it so hard to find someone who could like me for me? Why is so hard to find someone who wouldn’t use me? Why is it so hard to find someone who wants more than just a night of ‘fun’? Why is it so hard to find someone who is at least a little bit right?

All I want is a good guy. A guy good enough to be happy with. And no more sleepless nights. Please.